Blue jacaranda seedling

• Jvalego13
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Blue jacaranda seedling was created by Jvalego13

Posted 2 years 8 months ago #73426
Hello everyone! I am new to bonsai but I am trying to grow a blue jacaranda tree. Unfortunately, they keep falling over. They start to get a brown spot about 3/4 of the way up the stem and within 2 days the fall over (see picture). They come inside at night as it gets down into the 40’s here in WA at night. Am I over watering? Is it too cold in WA? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Attachment 805B0539-0B25-492E-8E8E-594CDDEE4B2E.jpeg not found

Last Edit:2 years 8 months ago by Jvalego13

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: 2 years 8 months ago by Jvalego13. Reason: Photo added

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 291

Replied by Albas on topic Blue jacaranda seedling

Posted 2 years 8 months ago #73427
Hello!
You are on northern hemisphere right (WA is Washington State I presume)...
So I don't think it's the best time to sown them, Jacarandá are Semi-deciduous/Deciduous Tropicals... 40ºC Fahrenheit night wouldn't be trouble of the tree's were bigger and more stable by this time, but they are not...

I live where Jacarandás are native from (Last Southern State of Brazil) and I have a few 1 years old ones growing...
Last winter colder nights reached around 0ºC and I didn't protected them from the frost or anything...

This is them on late winter you can see some burnt leaves, but just a few leaves dropped, everyone survived, they are way bigger now.
However, when winte came, they were already stablished on their pots, and I don't think our winter can compare to yours.