Protecting my Spruce from the C-C-Cold

• Tia4751
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Protecting my Spruce from the C-C-Cold was created by Tia4751

Posted 5 months 1 week ago #82146
Hi, I'm a newbie here and just got my first Bonsai tree for Xmas. I fell in love with the little lady instantly, but knew absolutely NOTHING about growing one. So here I am. I identified her as a spruce (common). Since the weather here in N. Ohio is a bit nippy, soon 2 B getting below freezing, I have taken the steps I've read here to protect the root system from freezing. I felt that I needed to get jiggy with the warming device, so I turned a snuggle monster loose on BB, (short for Bonsai Baby)
I took a styrofoam cooler that the pot fit in, wrapped insulating foam around the pot, and set it into the cooler. I then cut a slot in the lid so the lid fit, then wrapped the entire cooler in a plastic trash bag to keep out excessive moisture.
I check BB every 2 days as of now, (opening the cooler and checking her for water with a Bamboo chopstick I carefully stuck into the soil) and water accordingly till it comes out the bottom twice. I wait an hour and stick her back out. I just hope my snuggle monster isn't too much? I do know she needs to experience winter as part of her seasonal growing/shut down regimen, and she seems to tolerate the cold well like this. # it's 32 degrees outside as I type. Temps normally get to around zero with the chill factor here in Feb-Mar, so I wanted to be sure she's safe to that level of temperature. Check it out. Picture enclosed and any comments will be greatly appretiated. Huggz Tia
by Tia4751

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Protecting my Spruce from the C-C-Cold

Posted 5 months 1 week ago #82148
I see no pictures. But you are certainly overdoing things there.